Purdue football study hall

Study hall is an essential tool that the football office provides for football players. Study hall is held during two times during the day one is held at 10:00 a.m. to noon and the other session is held from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. During study hall athletes are given a goal sheet in the beginning of the session, a goal sheet is a gold sheet of paper that has all the assignments the athlete must complete during the session.  The sheet even keeps a ranking system for the most urgent work that the athlete have to complete before attempting to start any other work.

Being in study hall is a requirement for the freshmen on the football team because the coaches and the staff believe study hall will help the freshmen start their college career on a good foot with a solid GPA. Study hall is even required for athletes who are not freshmen who have earned below a 2.5 GPA for a semester. Sophomores and juniors who don’t have a GPA above 2.5 are also permitted to stay in the dorms until they can earn above a 2.5 GPA for a semester. In study hall athletes are also given tutors to help them complete their assignments and consult them on their work.

Looking back on my freshmen year I remember how much I hated going to study hall because I felt that it was a waste of time. Only after I got out of study hall my sophomore year did I realize what it truly did for me which was it helped me to build great habits for college. Study hall got me in the habit to study for an exam three days before an exam, complete and start all my papers weeks before the due date, and it helped me to learn how to prioritize certain assignments.

” Study hall was never fun because you have someone always in your ear telling you what to do and how to do it,” said safety for Purdue football Jake Thienaman. “Now looking back on all of it though I appreciate it all because it helped me learn what it takes to be successful in college.”

 

Purdue football study hall

Leave a Reply

